Sweeney Todd 2023 cast recording released with Josh Groban and Annaleigh Ashford

Stream now!

A new Sweeney Todd cast album has been released today!

A new Broadway recording of Stephen Sondheim and Hugh Wheeler’s musical is now available featuring Josh Groban and Annaleigh Ashford.

Produced by Alex Lacamoire and co-produced by Thomas Kail, the cast recording features Jonathan Tunick’s expansive original 26-player orchestration from the original production.

The new cast recording was released on Friday, 8 September.

A release date for the full album has been confirmed for 8 September 2023. You can pre-save the album online here.

Featuring music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, and a book by Hugh Wheeler, from an adaptation by Christopher Bond, Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street began a new Broadway revival in February at the Lunt-Fontanne Theatre.

Producer Jeffrey Seller is leading the revival which is directed by Thomas Kail.

Joining Groban as Sweeney Todd and Ashford as Mrs. Lovett are Jordan Fisher as Anthony, Gaten Matarazzo as Tobias, Tony Award winner and Laurence Olivier Award nominee Ruthie Ann Miles as Beggar Woman, Maria Bilbao as Johanna, Jamie Jackson as Judge Turpin, John Rapson as Beadle Bamford, Nicholas Christopher as Pirelli / Standby for Sweeney Todd, and Jeanna de Waal as Standby for Mrs. Lovett and Beggar Woman.

After he’s sent away by a corrupt judge, Sweeney returns to London years later seeking his long-lost family, and forms an unlikely partnership with Mrs. Lovett, who serves up pies underneath his former shop. Together, they wreak havoc on Fleet Street and serve up the hottest – and most unsettling – pies in London.

The cast also includes Galyana Castillo, Jonathan Christopher, Dwayne Cooper, Kyrie Courter, Taeler Cyrus, Timothy Hughes, Paul-Jordan Jansen, Alicia Kaori, Michael Kuhn, Raymond J. Lee, Megan Ort, Patricia Phillips, Mia Pinero, Samantha Pollino, Lexi Rabadi, Nathan Salstone, Kristie Dale Sanders, Stephen Tewksbury, Daniel Torres, Felix Torrez-Ponce, DeLaney Westfall and Hennessy Winkler.

The creative team is completed by choreographer Steven Hoggett, set designer Tony Award winner Mimi Lien, costume designer Emilio Sosa, lighting designer Natasha Katz, sound designer, Nevin Steinberg. J, wig, hair, & makeup designer Jared Janas and effects designer Jeremy Chernick. Casting is by The Telsey Office.

About the author: Josh Darvill

Josh is Stageberry's editor with over five years of experience writing about theatre in the West End and across the UK. Prior to following his passion for musicals, he worked for more than a decade as a TV journalist.


Follow us