Flowers for Mrs Harris cast recording album release date announced

An official cast album of Flowers for Mrs Harris has been announced.

Recorded by the Chichester Festival Theatre company the album is available to pre-order now with a release date set for 3 December.

Flowers for Mrs Harris is based on the novel by Paul Gallico with a book by Rachel Wagstaff and music and lyrics by Richard Taylor.

The 2018 Chichester Festival production was directed by Daniel Evans, with a cast led by Clare Burt, Joanna Riding and Gary Wilmot. They’re joined by Claire Machin, Louis Maskell, Mark Meadows, Laura Pitt-Pulford, Nicola Sloane, Luke Latchman and Rhona McGregor.

Conducted by Tom Brady, the orchestra is Jon Laird, Kathryn James, Nicki Davenport, Vicky Lester, Abigail Burrows, Rhys Taylor, Laura Llewellyn-Jones, Owain Harries, Jane Salmon and James Turner.

Flowers for Mrs Harris tells the story of Ada Harris, a charlady in post-war London whose drab life of dusting and scrubbing is transformed when she glimpses a Christian Dior dress in one of her client’s wardrobes and sets her heart on going to Paris to buy one for herself.

Daniel Evans, Artistic Director, Chichester Festival Theatre, said: “The making of this cast album, made possible by Richard Taylor, was not simply a wonderful opportunity to capture one of the most beautiful British musical scores of recent years; it was also memorable for having employed some of our finest musicians and actors at a time when almost none of them had any work or proper financial support – a situation that, sadly, persists.”

The cast recording has been produced by Richard Taylor and Mike Walker, engineered by Mike Walker, conducted by Tom Brady and orchestrated by Richard Taylor. It is produced for SimG Records by Simon Greiff.

You can watch a special video about the making of the Flowers for Mrs Harris album below…

About the author: Stageberry Staff

Our staff reporter keeping you up to date with the latest breaking theatre news from the West End and beyond!


Follow us