Hadestown’s Broadway cast album to be released June 7

An Original Broadway Cast Recording of Hadestown will be released on Friday, June 7.

The new Broadway production will release its cast album digitally first before a double-CD is made available at a later date.

Hadestown is a new musical with book, music and lyrics by Anaïs Mitchell, developed with Rachel Chavkin, based on Mitchell’s 2010 concept album.

Following the intertwining love stories of young dreamers Orpheus & Eurydice and King Hades & his wife Persephone, Hadestown takes audiences on a hell-raising journey to the underworld and back.

An original live cast recording is already available, released in 2017 ahead of the production’s run at the National Theatre between November 2018 and January 2019.

The Hadestown Original Broadway Cast Recording will be produced by David Lai and Todd Sicakfoose.

The cast features Reeve Carney, André De Shields, Amber Gray, Eva Noblezada, and Patrick Page.

They are joined by Jewelle Blackman, Yvette Gonzalez-Nacer, and Kay Trinidad as the Fates. The Workers Chorus is played by Afra Hines, Timothy Hughes, John Krause, Kimberly Marable, and Ahmad Simmons. The cast is completed by swings Malcolm Armwood, T. Oliver Reid, Jessie Shelton, and Khaila Wilcoxon.

The Broadway production opened on April 17, 2019 and has received 12 Outer Critics Circle Awards nominations.

About the author: Rachel Wise

UK based freelancer journalist Rachel contributes regularly to Stageberry with features and interviews from the hottest new shows and stage stars.


Follow us