Olivier Awards winners 2019: Full list of this year’s results

Olivier Awards winners and results 2019 in full

It’s the 2019 Olivier Awards tonight and here’s a full list of this year’s winners as they happen.

The Olivier Award Nominations 2019 were revealed earlier this year and now the results are revealed.

Jason Manford hosts this year’s Olivier Awards from the Royal Albert Hall.

Widely recognised as the most prestigious stage honours, this year’s Olivier Awards are the biggest yet and take place for the second year at the Royal Albert Hall.

Together with the winners of the awards, the Olivier Awards will present live performances from the biggest musicals of the season.

They include Caroline, Or Change; Come From Away; Company; Fun Home; The King And I; Six; and Tina – The Tina Turner Musical.

In addition, there will be a special performance from the cast of Disney’s The Lion King to celebrate its 20th year of running on the West End.

The 2019 Laurence Olivier Awards took place on Sunday, April 7.

The ceremony aired on ITV from 10:20PM to 12:10AM.

See the full list of this year’s nominations and winners below…

2019 Olivier Award winners!

Mastercard Best New Musical

Come From Away – WINNER
Fun Home
Tina – The Tina Turner Musical

Magic Radio Best Musical Revival

Company – WINNER
Caroline, Or Change
The King And I

Best Actor in a Musical

Kobna Holdbrook-Smith, Tina – The Tina Turner Musical – WINNER
Marc Antolin, Little Shop Of Horrors
Zubin Varla, Fun Home
Ken Watanabe, The King And I

Best Actress in A Musical

Sharon D. Clarke, Caroline, Or Change – WINNER
Rosalie Craig, Company
Kelli O’Hara, The King And I
Adrienne Warren, Tina – The Tina Turner Musical

Best Actor In A Supporting Role In A Musical

Jonathan Bailey, Company – WINNER
Clive Carter, Come From Away
Richard Fleeshman, Company
Robert Hands, Come From Away

Best Actress In a Supporting Role In A Musical

Patti LuPone, Company – WINNER
Ruthie Ann Miles, The King And I
“The Queens” – Aimie Atkinson, Alexia McIntosh, Millie O’Connell, Natalie Paris, Maiya Quansah-Breed and Jarneia Richard-Noel, Six
Rachel Tucker, Come From Away

American Airlines Best New Play

The Inheritance – WINNER
The Lehman Trilogy

Best Actor

Kyle Soller, The Inheritance – WINNER
Adam Godley, Ben Miles and Simon Russell Beale, The Lehman Trilogy
Arinzé Kene, Misty
Ian McKellen, King Lear
David Suchet, The Price

Best Actress

Patsy Ferran, Summer And Smoke – WINNER
Gillian Anderson, All About Eve
Eileen Atkins, The Height Of The Storm
Sophie Okonedo, Antony And Cleopatra
Katherine Parkinson, Home, I’m Darling

Best Actor In A Supporting Role

Chris Walley, The Lieutenant Of Inishmore – WINNER
Keir Charles, Quiz
Adam Gillen, Killer Joe
Adrian Lukis, The Price
Malcolm Sinclair, Pressure

Best Actress In a Supporting Role

Monica Dolan, All About Eve – WINNER
Susan Brown, Home, I’m Darling
Cecilia Noble, Nine Night
Vanessa Redgrave, The Inheritance

Best New Comedy

Home, I’m Darling – WINNER
Nine Night

Cunard Best Play Revival

Summer And Smoke – WINNER
King Lear
The Lieutenant Of Inishmore
The Price

Best Entertainment and Family

A Monster Calls – WINNER
Snow White
Songs For Nobodies
The Wider Earth

Blue-i Theatre Technology Award For Best Set Design

Bunny Christie, Company – WINNER
Bob Crowley, The Inheritance
Es Devlin, The Lehman Trilogy
Anna Fleischle, Home, I’m Darling

Best Costume Design

Catherine Zuber, The King And I – WINNER
Fly Davis, Caroline, Or Change
Anna Fleischle, Home, I’m Darling
Gabriella Slade, Six

White Light Award For Best Lighting Design

Jon Clark, The Inheritance – WINNER
Neil Austin, Company
Howell Binkley, Come From Away
Lee Curran, Summer And Smoke

Royal Albert Hall Award For Best Sound Design

Gareth Owen, Come From Away – WINNER
Paul Arditti and Christopher Reid, The Inheritance
Mike Beer, A Monster Calls
Carolyn Downing, Summer And Smoke
Nick Powell, The Lehman Trilogy

Sir Peter Hall Award For Best Director

Stephen Daldry, The Inheritance – WINNER
Christopher Ashley, Come From Away
Marianne Elliott, Company
Rebecca Frecknall, Summer And Smoke
Sam Mendes, The Lehman Trilogy

Best Theatre Choreographer

Kelly Devine, Come From Away – WINNER
Christopher Gattelli based on original choreography by Jerome Robbins, The King And I
Carrie-Anne Ingrouille, Six
Liam Steel, Company

Outstanding Achievement In Music

Come From Away – Book, Music and Lyrics: David Hein and Irene Sankoff; Music Supervisor, Arrangements: Ian Eisendrath; Orchestrations: August Eriksmoen; Musical Director/UK Music Supervisor: Alan Berry; and the band of Come From Away – WINNER
Fun Home – Composer: Jeanine Tesori; Lyricist/Bookwriter: Lisa Kron
The Inheritance – Composer: Paul Englishby
A Monster Calls – Original music composed by Benji Bower and performed live by Benji with Will Bower (The Bower Brothers)
Six – Original score, orchestrations and vocal arrangements: Toby Marlow, Lucy Moss, Tom Curran and Joe Beighton

Best New Dance Production

Blkdog by Botis Seva – WINNER
16 + A Room/Solo Echo/Bill by Ballet British Columbia
Playlist (Track 1, 2) by William Forsythe for English National Ballet
The Unknown Soldier by Alastair Marriott for The Royal Ballet

Best New Opera Production

Katya Kabanova at Royal Opera House – WINNER
Lessons In Love And Violence at Royal Opera House
The Turn Of The Screw at Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre

Outstanding Achievement In Affiliate Theatre

Flesh And Bone at Soho Theatre – WINNER
Moe Bar-El in Every Day I Make Greatness Happen at Hampstead Theatre Downstairs
Jonathan Hyde for Gently Down The Stream at Park Theatre
The Phlebotomist at Hampstead Theatre Downstairs
Athena Stevens for Schism at Park Theatre

Outstanding Achievement In Dance

Akram Khan for his performance in Xenos at Sadler’s Wells – WINNER
John Macfarlane for his design of Swan Lake at Royal Opera House
Dimitris Papaioannou for his choreography of The Great Tamer at Sadler’s Wells

Outstanding Achievement In Opera

The ensemble of Porgy And Bess at London Coliseum – WINNER
David Butt Philip and Roderick Williams for their performances in War Requiem at London Coliseum
The English National Opera chorus for Paul Bunyan at Wilton’s Music Hall
Andris Nelsons for his conducting of Lohengrin at Royal Opera House

Society Special Award

Sir Matthew Bourne

About the author: Josh Darvill

Josh is Stageberry's editor with over five years of experience writing about theatre in the West End and across the UK. Prior to following his passion for musicals, he worked for more than a decade as a TV journalist.


Follow us