Olivier Awards winners 2020: Full list of this year’s results

Olivier Awards result! 2020 Winners and nominations in full

2020 Olivier Awards results are in – here’s a full list of this year’s winners.

The Olivier Award Nominations 2020 were revealed earlier this year and now the results are revealed.

Jason Manford hosted this year’s Olivier Awards from the London Palladium.

Widely recognised as the most prestigious stage honours, this year’s Olivier Awards have been delayed from the Spring due to the pandemic.

The ceremony is went ahead tonight on Sunday, October 25, virtually.

Together with the winners of the awards, the Olivier Awards presented special performances from the biggest musicals of the season including Dear Evan Hansen and & Juliet.

See the full list of this year’s nominations and winners below…

2020 Olivier Award winners and nominations

Mastercard Best New Musical

Dear Evan Hansen – WINNER
& Juliet
Amélie The Musical

Best Actress in a Musical

Miriam-Teak Lee, & Juliet – WINNER
Audrey Brisson, Amélie The Musical
Judy Kuhn, Fiddler On The Roof
Zizi Strallen, Mary Poppins

Best Actor in a Musical

Sam Tutty, Dear Evan Hansen – WINNER
Andy Nyman, Fiddler On The Roof
Charlie Stemp, Mary Poppins
Sam Tutty, Dear Evan Hansen
Jac Yarrow, Joseph And The Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat

Best Actress in a Supporting Role in a Musical

Cassidy Janson, & Juliet – WINNER
Lucy Anderson, Dear Evan Hansen
Petula Clark, Mary Poppins
Lauren Ward, Dear Evan Hansen

Best Actor in a Supporting Role in a Musical

David Bedella, & Juliet – WINNER
Stewart Clarke, Fiddler On The Roof
Jack Loxton, Dear Evan Hansen
Rupert Young, Dear Evan Hansen

Best Original Score or New Orchestrations

Dear Evan Hansen, Music and Lyrics by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, Orchestration by Alex Lacamoire – WINNER
& Juliet, New Orchestrations by Bill Sherman and Dominic Fallacaro
Amélie The Musical, Musical Supervisor and Arrangements by Barnaby Race
Fiddler On The Roof, New Orchestrations by Jason Carr
Waitress, Music and Lyrics by Sara Bareilles

Magic Radio Best Musical Revival

Fiddler On The Roof – WINNER
Joseph And The Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
Mary Poppins

American Airlines Best New Play

Leopoldstadt – WINNER
A Very Expensive Poison
The Doctor
The Ocean At The End Of The Lane

Sir Peter Hall Award for Best Director

Marianne Elliott and Miranda Cromwell, Death Of A Salesman – WINNER
Jamie Lloyd, Cyrano De Bergerac
Trevor Nunn, Fiddler On The Roof
Ian Rickson, Uncle Vanya

Best Actress

Sharon D. Clarke, Death Of A Salesman – WINNER
Hayley Atwell, Rosmersholm
Juliet Stevenson, The Doctor
Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Fleabag

Best Actor

Andrew Scott, Present Laughter – WINNER
Toby Jones, Uncle Vanya
James McAvoy, Cyrano De Bergerac
Wendell Pierce, Death Of A Salesman

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Indira Varma, Present Laughter – WINNER
Michele Austin, Cyrano De Bergerac
Sophie Thompson, Present Laughter
Josie Walker, The Ocean At The End Of The Lane

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Adrian Scarborough, Leopoldstadt – WINNER
Arinzé Kene, Death Of A Salesman
Colin Morgan, All My Sons
Reece Shearsmith, A Very Expensive Poison

Cunard Best Revival

Cyrano De Bergerac – WINNER
Death Of A Salesman
Present Laughter

Outstanding Achievement in Opera

The Children’s Ensemble for their performance in Noye’s Fludde – WINNER
Jette Parker Young Artists for their performances in Berenice, Death In Venice and Phaedra
Martyn Brabbins and James Henshaw for their conducting of The Mask of Orpheus for English National Opera

Best New Opera Production

Billy Budd – WINNER
Hansel And Gretel
Noye’s Fludde

Blue-I Theatre Technology Award for Best Set Design

Bob Crowley, Mary Poppins – WINNER
Soutra Gilmour, & Juliet
Rae Smith, Rosmersholm
Rae Smith, Uncle Vanya

Best Costume Design

Joanna Scotcher, Emilia – WINNER
Hugh Durrant, Goldilocks And The Three Bears
Jonathan Lipman, Fiddler On The Roof
Paloma Young, & Juliet

Royal Albert Hall Award for Best Sound Design

Emma Laxton, Emilia – WINNER
Gregory Clarke, Rosmersholm
Ben and Max Ringham, ANNA
Ben and Max Ringham, Cyrano De Bergerac

White Light Award for Best Lighting Design

Paule Constable, The Ocean At The End Of The Lane – WINNER
Neil Austin, Rosmersholm
Howard Hudson, & Juliet
Bruno Poet, Uncle Vanya

Outstanding Achievement in Affiliate Theatre

Baby Reindeer, Bush Theatre – WINNER
Blues in the Night, Kiln Theatre
Our Lady of Kibeho, Theatre Royal Stratford East
Seven Methods of Killing Kylie Jenner, Jerwood Upstairs, Royal Court
Warheads, Park Theatre

Best Family Show

The Worst Witch – WINNER
Mr Gum And The Dancing Bear – The Musical!
Oi Frog & Friends!
To The Moon And Back

Best Theatre Choreographer

Matthew Bourne and Stephen Mear, Mary Poppins – WINNER
Fabian Aloise, Evita
Jerome Robbins and Matt Cole, Fiddler On The Roof
Jennifer Weber, & Juliet

Noel Coward Award for Best Entertainment or Comedy Play

Emilia – WINNER
Magic Goes Wrong
The Upstart Crow

Outstanding Achievement in Dance

Sara Baras for her choreography and performance in Ballet Flamenco – Sombras – WINNER
Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker for her performance in Mitten Wir Im Leben Sind/Bach6Cellosuiten
Gisèle Vienne for her choreography of Crowd, presented by Dance Umbrella

Best New Dance Production

Ingoma, Mthuthuzeli November for Ballet Black – WINNER
La Fiesta, Israel Galván
MÁM, Michael Keegan-Dolan for Teaċ Daṁsa
Vessel, Damien Jalet & Kohei Nawa

Society Special Award

Jo Hawes, Thelma Holt, Stephen Jameson, Sarah Preece and Peter Roberts

About the author: Rachel Wise

UK based freelancer journalist Rachel contributes regularly to Stageberry with features and interviews from the hottest new shows and stage stars.


Follow us