Thriller Live cast sing farewell to the West End after 11 years

The cast of Thriller Live have said goodbye to the West End in style.

First opening in the West End in 2008, Thriller Live celebrates the music of The Jackson 5 and the solo work and life of Michael Jackson.

The hit musical revue had been due to play its final performance on Sunday April 26 2020 to allow for major refurbishment of the Lyric Theatre.

However with UK theatres in shutdown, the cast ultimately performed their last moonwalk on Sunday 15 March 2020.⠀

To celebrate what would’ve been the show’s closing night this week, a number of cast members both past and present got together (virtually) for a performance of Michael Jackson’s Earth Song.

Singers featured in the video include Peter Andre, Joey James, MiG Ayesa, J Rome, Ina Seidou, John Moabi, Britt Quentin, Haydon Eshun, Jesse Smith, Vivienne Ekwulugo, Rory Taylor, David Julien, Adriana Louise, Zoe Birkett, Wayne Anthony-Cole and Kieran Alleyne.

Meanwhile the band is made up of John Maher (Musical Director/Arranger, Keyboards & Acoustic Guitars), Ryan Alex Farmery (Keyboards) Adam Kovacs (Percussion), Jo Phillpotts (Bass), Allan Salmon (Electric Guitar) and Accy Yeats (Drums).

The video and audio were produced and mixed by Musical Director John Maher with Sound Designer Chris Whybrow. The video was edited by MiG Ayesa.

While Thriller Live has ended its run on the West End a UK tour is underway in 2020 and 2021.

About the author: Josh Darvill

Josh is Stageberry's editor with over five years of experience writing about theatre in the West End and across the UK. Prior to following his passion for musicals, he worked for more than a decade as a TV journalist.


Follow us