Treason: New musical based on the Gunpowder Plot announced

New musical Treason, based on the Gunpowder Plot, is to release a first listen to its songs this winter.

A host of West End stars will lend their talents to the recordings as the show continues to be developed for the stage.

Treason features a folk-pop score with music and lyrics by Ricky Allan and tells the story of the notorious gunpowder plot of 1605.

The album cast will feature Kelly Agbowu (Les Misérables, Waitress), Daniel Boys (Falsettos, Nativity Rocks!), Rosalie Craig (Company, City of Angels), Hadley Fraser (Young Frankenstein, City of Angels), Waylon Jacobs (Hamilton, Memphis), Emmanuel Kojo (Oklahoma!, Showboat), Rebecca LaChance (School of Rock, Beautiful), Christina Modestou (Six, Little Shop of Horrors), and Oliver Savile (Falsettos, Wicked).

The album will feature musical supervision by Nick Pinchbeck and orchestrations from Matthew Malone.

The first song will be released on November 5 (of course), the 415th anniversary of the infamous gunpowder plot.

Further songs will drop every two weeks, available on Spotify, Amazon Music and Apple Music.

For more information and updates, visit

About the author: Stageberry Staff

Our staff reporter keeping you up to date with the latest breaking theatre news from the West End and beyond!


Follow us